General Teaching Council Northern Ireland

Sign-up to E-News

Council Membership

Council Members 2019 – 2023


Council Membership comprises:

  • 14 elected teachers;
  • 5 teachers appointed by the Northern Ireland Teachers' Council;
  • 10 appointments by various representative bodies with a stakehold in education; and
  • 4 appointments by the Department of Education of whom one will be representative of industry and commerce and 3 will reflect the wider public interest. 


back to top >>

Elected Members

Nursery School representative

  • Sonia McGowan

Special School representative

  • Julian Morgan

Primary School Teacher representatives

  • Stuart Bill
  • Ciara Duffy
  • Shaunagh Lambe
  • Lisa Magennis 
  • Catriona Mullan

Secondary School Teacher representatives

  • Dr David Baxter
  • Siobhan McElhinney
  • Brendan Morgan
  • Susan Parlour
  • Keith Smith

 Primary School Principal representatives

  • Dr Graham Gault

Secondary School Principal representatives

  • Fiona Kane

back to top >>


Appointed Members

Northern Ireland Teachers' Council

  • Raymond Beggs
  • Emma Loughridge
  • John Kelly
  • TBC
  • Gordon White

Education Authority

  • Áine Andrews
  • John Unsworth

Council for Catholic Maintained Schools

  • Shirley McKenna
  • Paul O'Doherty

Comhairle na Gaelscolaiochta

  • Maria Thomasson

Governing Bodies Association

  • Mary Lou Winchborne

Northern Ireland Council for Integrated Education

  • Cliodhna Scott-Wills

Transferor Representatives' Council

  •  John Wilkinson

Trustees of Catholic Maintained Schools

  • Martin Cromie

Universities Council for the Education of Teachers

  • Dr Martin Hagan

Department of Education

  • Paul Boyle
  • Maria Mullally
  • Vacant
  • Vacant

* appointment to be reconfirmed post election 


© Copyright 2006 i3 Digital